Systems of Champions


World Chess Champions
through 144 Analyzed Games

Our course "Systems of Champions" will present an important part of the legacy of the World Chess Champions from Steinitz to the great Kasparov and Anand. We will present to you what they invented in chess: their plans and the ideas they brought to the important systems of chess.

World Chess Champions:

Wilhelm Steinitz (1886-1894)
Emanuel Lasker (1894-1921)
Jose Raul Capablanca (1921-1927)
Alexander Alekhine (1927-1935, 1937-1946)
Max Euwe (1935-1937)
Mikhail Botvinnik (1948-1957, 1958-1960, 1961-1963)
Vasily Smyslov (1957-1958)
Mikhail Tal (1960-1961)
Tigran Petrosian (1963-1969)
Boris Spassky (1969-1972)
Robert James "Bobby" Fischer (1972-1975)
Anatoly Karpov (1975-1985)
Garry Kasparov (1985-2000)
Vladimir Kramnik (2000-2007)
Viswanathan Anand (2007-current)
Also, FIDE World Chess Champions:
Alexander Khalifman (1999-2000)
Ruslan Ponomariov (2002-2004)
Rustam Kasimdzhanov (2004-2005)
Veselin Topalov (2005-2006)

As the games are organized around various opening systems, you will have the chance to see the World Champions playing a wide range of positions: static, solid, dynamic, intricate, double-edged structures, complex endgames, with or without attacking chances, drawish positions that they eventually managed to win, and much, much more.

We have selected only games that are highly instructive in every stage of chess. Our extensive, clear and profound annotations will offer you lessons in chess theory from the opening all the way to late in the endgame. We load into each game a great deal of practical advice and explain methods of thinking so that you can put them into practice in your own games.